The Institute Executive Board is a non-statutory committee of the University. The role of the Institute Executive Board is to assist the President in the management of the University and in formulating University strategy and policy for approval by the Governing Body.


The composition of the Institute Executive Board is as follows:

  • Prof. Maggie Cusack, President (Chair)

  • Mr Paul Gallagher,  Vice President Finance & Administration

  • Mr Michael Loftus, Vice President for External Affairs

  • Dr Áine Ní Shé, Registrar & Vice President for Academic Affairs

  • Mr Gerard O’Donovan, Head of Faculty of Business & Humanities

  • Mr Tim Horgan, Head of Faculty of Engineering & Science

  • Prof. Margaret Linehan, Chair, Athena SWAN Self-Assessment Team

  • Prof. Hugh McGlynn, MTU Project Director, CIT

  • Dr Pio Fenton, Chair of Heads of Department Group

  • Mr Cormac Gebruers, Faculty of Engineering & Science Executive nominee 

  • Dr Breda Kenny,  Faculty of Business & Humanities Executive nominee


The Institute Executive Board meet on a monthly basis and at such other times deemed to be necessary. It is chaired by the President or by the President’s nominee from within the Board.  A recording secretary is present at all meetings to record details of the meetings.  Action lists from the meetings are circulated to the Governing Body and are also available to staff.



© 2024 - Munster Technological University - MTU