share this page

Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL)


Recognition of Prior Learning is when formal recognition is given for what you already know prior to starting on a programme or module. With recognition of prior learning, the focus is on learning and not on experience as such. You can apply for RPL in any CIT accredited programme or module. Programmes which are accredited by professional bodies or any external awarding bodies may have their own procedures for RPL which you should refer to.

For detailed information on RPL, please click here.

Lifelong Learning Opportunities

If you are a mature student who is interested in studying at third level, CIT has a lot to offer you. There are opportunities in all the courses described in the Full-Time Handbook, plus hundreds more courses offered on a part-time or evening basis, which are described in the CIT Continuing Education Courses Handbook.

Download Handbooks >>

No Points Race
As a mature applicant (over 23) you can apply through the Central Applications Office (CAO) for a full-time course. The CAO points system will not be a barrier - you are treated as a "non-standard applicant" and you will be considered by CIT on the basis of your experience and suitability for the course.

ACCS: Take it in Stages
ACCS stands for "Accumulation of Credits and Certification of Subjects". In spite of that complicated title, it is a wonderfully simple idea. Instead of studying a complete full-time course, you can take one or more modules at a time. Once you pass, it is certified individually. By accumulating modules, you can obtain an award at higher certificate, degree or honours degree level.

The Institute offers many evening courses through this system and in addition, accommodates some students on its full-time courses.