Facts and Figures

Physical Environment

The University boasts many top class facilities including its award-winning Library & IT Building and its world class laboratories. MTU Cork presently has four separate campuses. The main campus is located in Bishopstown and covers an area of approximately 80 acres. As well as the original RTC building, the campus consists of the Library & IT Building, Gymnasium, Astroturf pitch, running track and playing pitches. The campus also has numerous temporary buildings which house both administrative offices and classrooms. The new Administration Building, the Student Centre and the Tourism and Hospitality Building are the latest additions to the campus along with the Rubicon Centre which is an on-site business incubation centre. The NIMBUS Centre is adjacent to and attached to the Rubicon Centre. The NIMBUS Centre provides space for up to 80 researchers, including facilities for undergraduate project students, visiting postgraduate students and researchers from other institutions and dedicated industry visitor workstations, already in use, where company researchers can work in close collaboration with NIMBUS staff and use NIMBUS research facilities. NIMBUS is MTU Cork's first dedicated research centre and is intended not only to be a showcase for MTU Cork's research but also to demonstrate MTU Cork's ability to translate innovative research into economic benefit.

The MTU Crawford College of Art and Design is located at Sharman Crawford Street, Cork. This campus is currently the subject of redevelopment plans.

The MTU Cork School of Music is located in a purpose-built state of the art facility located in Union Quay, Cork.

The National Maritime College of Ireland opened in October 2004. The development of this state-of-the-art building was funded using the public-private-partnership model. The college is located in Ringaskiddy, Co. Cork.

Student Numbers

MTU Cork currently has in the region of 12,000 registered students with approximately 2,000 new entries year on year. Of these approximately 6,000 are full-time and the remaining are part-time. The part-time student population consists of a wide variety of students including access, evening and continued professional development students as well as a significant number studying music and drama at all levels.

Staff Numbers

At present, MTU Cork has 1,425 staff members of which 824 are academic staff. The academic staff consists of 455 permanent whole-time, 136 pro-rata part-time and 233 hourly-paid part-time members. The non-academic staff is composed of technical support, library, administrative and services staff.

The non-academic staff members break down as follows: 187 Management, Clerical Admin and Library; 169 Student Services Support, including Exam Invigilators; 86 Technicians; 70 Research staff; and 89 support staff including Caretakers, Attendants and Cleaners.



© 2024 - Munster Technological University - MTU