CIT Students Presented with Prized Innovative Student Engineer of the Year Award

CIT Students Presented with Prized Innovative Student Engineer of the Year Award

Published on: Tuesday, 13 November 2018

Cork engineering talent has been honoured at the annual Engineers Ireland Excellence Awards, with a number of projects and professionals recognised for their exceptional contributions. CIT’s Kevin Hayes, Muireann Hickey, Cian O'Leary and Jonathan Mullane won the Siemens ‘Innovative Student Engineer of the Year Award’ for their mobility device, StrydeTech, a life-changing mobility enablement device which provides independence and confidence to those who are unable to stand up on their own.


The awards, held in association with ESB, are presented annually in recognition of the achievements of engineers that have demonstrated exceptional engineering skills. As well as identifying leaders within the engineering industry, the awards provide an opportunity to showcase and celebrate the invaluable contribution the engineering profession makes to society.





Speaking at the awards, Pat O’Doherty, ESB Chief Executive, said: “This year’s awards once again highlight the outstanding and diverse achievements of engineers across Ireland who have demonstrated exceptional engineering skills through their work whether at home, or aboard. Taking action and leadership to help Ireland build a fit-for-purpose and sustainable infrastructure is a national imperative, with engineers a critical part of making this a reality and so ensuring Ireland has a ready supply of skilled engineers remains a vital societal and economic priority.  Events like the Engineers Ireland Excellence Awards inspire and encourage in this respect, and I commend all the participants in the various categories of this year’s awards.” 


Caroline Spillane, Engineers Ireland, Director General, added: “Engineers are people who create, explore and innovate. Behind every design-led engineering solution are communities and families that benefit.  These winning projects are the embodiment of the immense contribution the engineering profession makes as a community of creative professionals to Irish society.  They are eloquent testimony to the capabilities of Irish engineers working both at home and abroad.  I offer my congratulations to all the entries involved.”



The full list of winners by category from the ninth Engineers Ireland Excellence Awards are:

  • Engineering Project of the Year Award, sponsored by Transport Infrastructure Ireland
    Kerry Central Regional Water Supply Scheme by Irish Water, in association with Kerry County Council, Nicholas O'Dwyer, TOBIN Consulting Engineers and Glan Agua
  • Chartered Engineer of the Year Award, sponsored by Arup
    Aoife Murphy, Chartered Engineer - Project title: Earthquake: The Silver Lining - An Opportunity in a Time of Disaster
  • ESB Outstanding Contribution to Engineering Award, sponsored by ESB
    Eoghan Lynch, Chartered Engineer, Chairman of Arup Ireland
  • ESB International Engineer of the Year Award, sponsored by ESB International
    Siobhan Kennedy, Chartered Engineer, Recovery Advisor, Housing Recovery and Reconstruction Platform, Nepal
  • Innovative Student Engineer of the Year Award, sponsored by Siemens
    Group winners: Kevin Hayes, Muireann Hickey, Cian O'Leary and Jonathan Mullane of Cork Institute of Technology for their mobility enablement device, StrydeTech
  • Geoscience Ireland Award, sponsored by Geoscience Ireland
    Northern Spire Bridge by Roughan & O’Donovan; Buro Happold; Farrans Construction; Victor Buyck Joint Venture; Quinn Piling; and Fugro-Loadtest
  • Best Presentation Award, sponsored by Beale & Company and Griffiths & Armour
    Liam Coleman, Chartered Engineer, Principal Bridge Engineer at OPUS International Consultancy  
  • Local Authority Engineering Initiative Award, sponsored by Colas Bitumen Emulsions
    Joint winners:

    > Lough Rinn International Rowing and Canoe Course Project by Leitrim County Council and Jennings O'Donovan & Partners Limited
    > River Dargle Flood Defence Scheme by Wicklow County Council
  • Technical Innovation of the Year Award, sponsored by NSAI
    Design-Driven Innovation: Combined Sewer Interceptor Physical Model Test-Bed Project by Ward and Burke Construction Ltd and the National University of Ireland, Galway
  • Heritage and Conservation Award, sponsored by the Office of Public Works
    Aran Sweater Market – Galway by TOBIN Consulting Engineers and Architectural Conservation Professionals
  • President’s Award, sponsored by CRH
    David Porter, Chartered Engineer, Divisional Roads Manager with the Northern Ireland Department for Infrastructure
  • Continuing Professional Development (CPD) Employer of the Year Award, sponsored by Enterprise Ireland, IDA Ireland and supported by the Department of Education and Skills
    Lufthansa Technik Turbine Shannon

More News...

© 2023 - Munster Technological University - MTU