share this page

Event: Cork Orchestral Society 72nd Season October 2009

Saturday, 31 October 2009

Thursday 8th October > RTÉ Vanbrugh Quartet
Aula Maxima, UCC @ 8pm
Haydn String Quartet No. 3, Op. 33 ‘The Bird’
Les Vendredis  Rimsky-Korsakov Allegro Borodin Scherzo
Tchaikovsky String Quartet No. 3 in eb, Op. 30

This October, the RTÉ Vanbrugh Quartet will present a Haydn master-piece alongside the Russian romantics including short works from ‘Les Vendredis’ - a popular# collection of musical surprises and offerings presented at the parties of the St. Petersburg's music scene in the late 19th century. Opening the concert, Haydn’s String Quartet Op. 33 No. 3 is from a collection now recognised as the first true string quartet masterpieces. This quartet was probably nicknamed ‘The Bird’ on account of the trills on the first violin and the ‘chirping’ appoggiaturas. Tchaikovsky completed his String Quartet No. 3, the last of his three string quartets, in 1876 and it was performed for the first time during a soirée at Nikolai Rubinstein's apartment in March that year.

On hearing the quartet, Tchaikovsky remarked ‘At first I didn't much like the Finale, but now I see that it is quite good.’ 

  Thursday 15 October > Haydn Trio Eisenstadt
Curtis Auditorium, CIT Cork School of Music @ 8pm

Harald Kosik (piano)
Verena Stourzh (violin)
Hannes Gradwohl (cello)

Haydn Trio in C, Hob XV / 27
William Bolcom ‘Haydn Go Seek’, [D2H]
Haydn Piano Trio in Eb, Hob XV/29
Schubert Piano Trio in Eb, Op. 100

“There is no current piano trio formation who is so intensively committed to Joseph Haydn’s work as the Haydn Trio Eisenstadt, founded in 1992.” (Fono Forum, 2006)

Haydn Trio Eisenstadt has been preparing for the Haydn Bicentenary we celebrate in 2009 since they were founded in 1992. This concert comes to us as part of a world-wide programme of concerts by Austria’s musical ambassadors for the year and Cork Orchestral Society is delighted to host this landmark project.


Friday 30th October > Irish Chamber Orchestra
Curtis Auditorium, CIT Cork School of Music @ 8pm

Anthony Marwood (director / violin)
Steve Mackey (electric guitar)

Osvaldo Golijov Last Round
Barber  Adagio
Steven Mackey Concerto for Violin, Electric Guitar and Strings
John Kinsella Prelude & Toccata
Mozart Symphony No. 29, K. 201

The Irish Chamber Orchestra presents Barber's mesmeric Adagio and Mozart's landmark Symphony No. 29 - alongside modern classics, including a world premiere from US guitar virtuoso Steven Mackey.

ICO Booking Office: 061 331549 

Please click here for

More News...