CIT Honours Prestigious Alumni From Home And Abroad At Gala Event

CIT Honours Prestigious Alumni From Home And Abroad At Gala Event

Published on: Friday, 17 October 2014

CIT has honoured three of its most prestigious former students at the third CIT Alumni Awards Gala Banquet. CIT has successful alumni in Ireland and around the world, with one of the honoured graduates travelling from New York to accept her award.

CIT celebrated Dave Murphy, Deirdre O’Connor, and Brendan O’Regan at the banquet and presented each with a traditional Cork Strawberry Dish recognising outstanding achievements in their fields. An Alumni Award is the highest honour that CIT can bestow on a graduate.

Dr Brendan Murphy, CIT President said: “All three award recipients have excelled in their chosen fields and each has made an enormous contribution to society, both here in Ireland and abroad. Their presence at the Awards Ceremony enables us to recognise, and celebrate, their accomplishments and to bask a little in their reflected glory. CIT is rightly proud to honour them as outstanding ambassadors for the education provided by the Institute.”

Dave Murphy graduated in 1985 with an Honours Bachelor Degree in Science in Chemical and Process Engineering. He is CEO of PM Group, one of the most respected engineering design, architecture, project, and construction management firms in the world.

Deirdre O’Connor graduated in 1993 with a Degree in Accounting. She is now the Managing Director at one of the largest global asset management companies . Previously Deirdre was a Managing Director at Goldman Sachs.

Brendan O’Regan graduated in 1978 from Instrument Physics in CIT. He is CEO of Zenith Technologies, a leading global technology company in the Life Sciences sector and is involved as a stakeholder, and executive, in a number of allied technology companies.

Guests at the Alumni Awards Banquet included alumni, staff, students and friends of CIT. Entertainment was provided by the Chiral Quartet, students of CIT Cork School of Music.

Previous CIT Alumni Award recipients include Bob Savage, Vice President and Managing Director of EMC, Vivienne Roche, sculptural artist, Gerard O’Mahoney, advisory partner of PWC Group, Dr E Patrick Galvin, former Chairman of Waterford Crystal, Actress Fiona Shaw, and Robert Short, former Corporate Vice President Microsoft.














(L-R) Deirdre O’Connor, Dr Brendan Murphy, Dave Murphy and Brendan O’Regan.


More News...

© 2023 - Munster Technological University - MTU