CIT Students Win Double Gold in Belgrade > AEHT 2014

CIT Students Win Double Gold in Belgrade > AEHT 2014

Published on: Monday, 24 November 2014





Gold Medal Winners

Finbarr Collins, Bachelor of Business (Honours) in Hospitality Management (Year 4)
Saoirse O'Brien,  Higher Certificate in Arts in Culinary Studies (Year 2).


Two students from CIT's Department of Tourism & Hospitality returned victorious today having being awarded gold medals in their competition category at the annual AEHT Competitions in Serbia.

Saoirse O’Brien, a student in the Higher Certificate in Arts in Culinary Studies and Finbarr Collins, a student in the Bachelor of Business (Honours) in Hospitality Management, beat off stiff competition to win their competitions.

The 26th Annual Conference and Competition for the AEHT was held this year in Belgrade, Serbia over 4 days. There were 425 competitors, representing 85 European Tourism and Hospitality colleges from 40 member countries in 10 competition classes and with such and extensive and experienced range of competitors – this makes both Finbarr and Saoirse’s achievements truly remarkable.

Adrian Gregan, Head of Department, commented “Saoirse and Finbarr are superb ambassadors for the Cork Institute of Technology and particularly for the Department of Tourism and Hospitality and their Hotel Management and Culinary classes.  We congratulate them on their amazing achievements and congratulate both Ann O’Connor and Breda Hickey their lecturer/mentors for the event.”

The AEHT is the Association of European Tourism and Hospitality Schools, with a membership of over 650 European Schools and Colleges.

The Department of Tourism and Hospitality at CIT encompasses the areas of Culinary Arts, Tourism, Hospitality and Bar Management. It has over 700 students and a team of dedicated, student-centred, industry experienced Lecturers across these disciplines and is located in a modern, purpose-built building, on CIT’s Bishopstown Campus.










The AEHT is the Association of European Tourism and Hospitality Schools in which membership is approximately 650 European Schools and Colleges

The AEHT is an International Non-Governmental Organisation (NGO) enjoying consultative status with the Council of Europe.

The prime objective of the association is to promote a European outlook among Hotel and Tourism Schools

  • by providing a means of communication between European Hotel and Tourism Schools
  • by making more widely known the information about hospitality education in other countries
  • by encouraging exchanges of students and teachers
  • by creating closer links between schools and businesses
  • by pooling teaching methods and materials, knowledge and skills

One of the distinctive features of the AEHT is that it includes in its activities all parties in the educational system, not only heads of schools, but also teachers and students. A large range of events is organised to meet the needs of all of these groups.

The AEHT is run by an Executive Board (‘Comité Directeur’ in French) made up of one representative from each of the member countries ; the membership elects a President and the Vice-Presidents. The General Secretary and the Treasurer are appointed to their posts.

The President, Vice-Presidents, General Secretary and Treasurer make up the Managing Committee (‘Bureau’ in French). The Association’s Statutes and the House Rules define the roles of the members of the Managing Committee and of the Executive Board. The minutes of the meetings of the Executive Board are available to all the Association’s members.

The Association was created in 1988 at the initiative of Jean-Paul Bernard and Martin Bruder, Head and Deputy Head respectively of the Strasbourg-Illkirch Hotel and Tourism School, France.

At the time of its foundation in 1988 the AEHT consisted of 24 schools from 16 European countries. Over the years it has grown considerably, and now has a membership of around 430, with an AEHT national representative in 44 European countries.

More News...

© 2023 - Munster Technological University - MTU